Accomplishments in Aviation

As you might have noticed from my Goodreads feed, I have been reading a book about women aviators lately. I enjoy reading about history, particularly when it pertains to extraordinary people. I read about Baroness Raymonde de Laroche, Bessie Coleman, and Neta Snook, all pioneers in aviation and all women. In learning about the early history of aviation, I skimmed over the chapter on Amelia Earhart who is most commonly known for flying over the Atlantic and attempting to fly around the world. As I continued on with the book, my brother asked to watch ESPN on television so I set aside the book and turned onto the news. The news story that happened to be playing was of Matt Guthmiller, a pilot who may be the youngest yet to fly solo around the world. Coincidence? Possibly.

 

Read more about the remarkable young man in the article below:

http://nypost.com/2014/07/15/teen-could-be-youngest-to-fly-solo-around-the-world/

Leave a comment