Semester Three

My mom, while excited it is my last year of college, still cried at saying goodbye.

My mom, while excited it is my last year of college, still cried at saying goodbye.

I am currently heading into my third week of my last year of nursing school! To say that the last few weeks have been interesting is an understatement. It almost seems as though we started off at a jog and are now at full speed. 

My clinical rotation for the first half of the semester is split between the labor and delivery unit and postpartum care unit. I have not had the opportunity to observe a delivery, but I have learned newborn and postpartum assessments as well as how to teach mothers how to breastfeed. Not super exciting stuff, but it is all part of the learning experience. 

Also part of the learning experience is my clinical advisor. Unfortunately my advisor is not familiar with obstetrics nor has very good organizational skills. The learning curve for me this rotation is steep. My advisor is expecting me to know and understand far more than what has been taught to us in the two classes covering pregnancy. While it is frustrating, I am trying to view this as an opportunity to take charge of my learning and be prepared for anything. 

Despite all the stress and frustrations I have met with, I have enjoyed having a little more time for myself. I am definitely adjusted to the flow of nursing school; I know when and how to study most effectively as well as when to relax and watch Pretty Little Liars (my guilty pleasure). I look forward to meeting more challenges in the future, but I also hope there are not more than are necessary… 

IMG_8012

Bubble tea, my other guilty pleasure.

Leave a comment