Studying for the NCLEX

IMG_0521Linfield, like many other colleges and universities, has a month-long term that spans the entire month of January. Students are able to participate in classes which may not be offered at other times in the year. For instance, my freshman year I took Latin 100 – it was the best and only Jan Term course I have taken. I was able to immerse myself in the language and spend most of my day with one of my best friends.

Unfortunately, that was the only year Jan Term was feasible for me and thus I have spent the last two years at home, biding my time until I returned for the Spring semester. The limbo I experience every year only lasts a bit before I focus on something to do with my time. Last year I spent it working on my blog, reading, and watching movies from the AFI’s 100 Best Films list with my dad.

This year I am using the copious amount of time I have on my hands to begin preparing for the NCLEX and get in a healthy workout routine. My family gave me the Illustrated Study Guide for the NCLEX-RN Exam by JoAnn Zerwekh, a book I have repeatedly checked out from the Linfield library to help me study, for Christmas and it is one of the books I am using to help me study. I also have Davis’s Q&A for the NCLEX-RN Examination by Kathleen A. Ohman to practice answering NCLEX-style questions. I have also checked out NCLEX-RN: Power Practice from the public library to practice actually taking the exam.

Although I have not entirely decided on a study strategy, I hope by beginning to study earlier than later I will be able to effectively review all the materials I need in time for the NCLEX in June. Granted, I will need a study strategy to do so, but for the time being I am reviewing material from the first year of nursing school that needs brushing up on.

If anyone has any suggestions of study strategies I would greatly appreciate the help!

Leave a comment