NICU Nursing: Taking It Slowly

The topic of neonatal intensive care nursing has been a difficult one to write about – it has literally taken me months to start this post. The reason for that is it is so near and dear to my heart and I want to do it justice in my portrayal of it. Though my experience is limited, I do want to share what I have seen so far in clinical.

An example of the isolettes our patients reside in. (Source)

As part of my senior practicum I am paired with a nurse who is responsible for teaching me and guiding me through 168 hours (or fourteen 12-hour shifts) of direct care in the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU). I am so grateful for the preceptor I was assigned! She is equal parts challenging and encouraging. My preceptor cares about the quality of care for her patients and their families and is an extremely patient teacher.

Initially I feared I would be completely unprepared for my first day of clinical, not having had a pediatric rotation. My fears were assuaged by my preceptor the first day when she looked me in the eye and told me she had not expected me to know anything and that we would take it slowly. I soon learned that “taking it slowly” was the NICU way.

I first learned the basics, such as calculating feeding rates and administering feedings and changing diapers. Simple stuff, yet I had taken for granted how incredibly important nutrition and gastrointestinal health are to the little ones. Next, I learned how to do room safety checks and deliver medications. Then I learned how to complete a head-to-toe assessment on a neonate.

It was a frustrating process at points, but after having observed my preceptor’s nursing style I came to trust her judgment above my own. That is not to say I did not offer myself up for new experiences and opportunities to learn, but I followed her lead. I knew she only wanted the best for our patients, especially because they are a vulnerable population. My preceptor does not want me or any other new nurses to make any crucial mistakes that could harm our patients. That is why “taking it slowly” is the NICU way.

Leave a comment