Studying for the NCLEX

This book has some good figures useful for visual learners. (Source)

I have spent most of my time the last month preparing for the National Council Licensure Examination (NCLEX). It is the epitome of all exams we have taken in our lives thus far. The NCLEX is the exam nursing students take to become registered nurses. As one might imagine, it’s a big deal and it takes some preparation to ensure passing.

At the beginning of fourth semester I purchased an illustrated review book that I had repeatedly checked out from the school library. I am a very visual learner so it helped me to lay out the body processes and complications that could occur.

Occasionally throughout the semester I would crack it open and study for an hour or two. It wasn’t until the middle of May that I really started to focus on my studies. By that time my clinical hours were complete, assignments submitted, and stress (almost) non-existent.

My friends and I all signed up for a review course which was scheduled for the first few days after commencement. The review was very good and really helped me focus on particular concepts instead of trying to learn and understand every illness and disease known to humankind. Take, for example, fluid volume excess (FVE). The treatments for FVE and causes of FVE are applicable to the understanding and treatment of various conditions such as heart failure and kidney failure.

I utilized this to practice answering questions. Not only does it have thousands of questions, it also has their rationales. (Source)

After the review course, it was all up to me. With the support of my family and friends, I spent at least 4-5 hours a day studying. At first it was easy, because I methodically pursued the concepts I did not yet fully understand. Once my knowledge expanded, I had a hard time figuring out what to study. It was as if I was perusing the material and not necessarily studying anymore. I turned my attention to medications and their classifications.

I knew I would never fully understand all there is to know about pharmacology, but I thought if I could distract myself (in a sense) with medications I would focus less on my mounting anxiety. It helped, but so did talking to friends that were also studying for the NCLEX and taking better study breaks.

My idea of a study break up until that point was to snack, have a mini-dance party, or browse social media. As my exam date approached, I took the opportunity to go running daily, hiking, and paddle boarding. I also spent some time in mental relaxation mode and turned reflexively to Netflix and sleep.

Overall, I felt mentally prepared for the NCLEX and that is what mattered most to me the day of the exam.

To be continued…

Leave a comment